Current make-up favourites

image

image

Bases – I used to like heavy bases, my favourite was ‘Estee Lauders Double Wear’.  But since getting a little older my skin has become drier and so I now tend to lean towards lighter more glowy bases.  I really like highstreet brands for bases and my favourites at the moment are the ‘Loreal Infallible 24h-Matte’ and ‘Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream’.

Concealer – I use concealer every makeup day, whether it be to cover my dark (sleep deprived) eye circles, or spots (how am I 31 and still getting spots?!).  I bought the ‘Makeup Forever Full Cover’ concealer in Barcelona Sephora.  It felt very expensive at the time, but it has lasted ages.   I really like it, it matches my skin colour brilliantly and stays put all day, it is even waterproof!! And exciting news is that people in the UK can now get Makeup Forever products from Debenhams.

Powder – As with bases, I used to lean towards very matte powders like ‘Rimmel Stay Mattee’, but over the last year or so I have realised that lighter, more dewy powders are actually quite flattering on my skin.  I bought the ‘Bourjois Poudre de Riz’ on a whim, and I love it!  It actually looks quite sparkly in the tub but once on the skin it just leaves a lovely subtle glow.

Bronzer – I never used to bronze up my skin, but again over the last few years I have come to realise that a little but of colour really suits my face and makes me look a little more alive.  I like bronzers that are not too red in colour, but that are still warm.  I find that ‘Benefit Hoola’ fits the bill perfectly.  It is very intense though so I have to be very careful and use a light hand!

Brows – I think my eye brows get more sparse every day.  I keep meaning to get HD Brows done but I never get around to it!  In the meantime I am using the little brow kit ‘Soap and Glory Archery D-I-Y  Brow Bar’.  It contains a highlight shade, a wax, two brow colours and some cute little brushes.  I am not going to lie, I only use the brow shades, the other products are relatively untouched.  But the shades are really good!  Not orangey at all, and stay in place all day with a little bit of brow gel.

Mascaras –  Again, as a rule, I tend to go for highstreet brand mascaras as I really do not think that high end ones are any better!  At the moment I am using the ‘Loreal Lash Architect’ mascara and I really like it.  It has a fibre brush which I tend to prefer over plastic ones.  For my bottom lashes I use ‘Clinique Bottom Lash’.  It has a tiny little wand and does not budge all day.

Eyeliners – I like to line my upper waterline as I think it makes my lashes look a lot fuller.  My eyeliners of choice at the moment are ‘Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on eye pencil’ in the shade Perversion, and the ‘Zoeva Graphic Eyes’ in the shade New Glance.  These are both great pencils, and the Zoeva one is really cheap!!

Blusher – I bought this ‘Nars’ blusher in Orgasm years ago.  As you can see it is very well loved!  It is a lovely colour that brings a nice sheen to the cheek.

And there you have it, my current make-up favourites!

What are your favourites?  Have you ever had HD Brows done?

 

 

Leave a Reply

