24 weeks pregnant [baby #2]

24_weeks.jpg

How far along: 24 weeks

Gender: We didn’t find out the gender at our anomaly scan, and do not have another opportunity to, so we are team yellow!  Obviously it is personal preference, but I think there is something magical about not knowing the sex of your baby until it is born, it is the truest surprise in the world!

Maternity clothes: Yes for bottoms, not so much for tops.  I am living in about 3 pairs of maternity jeans, floaty/baggy tops and a couple of maternity tops from my first pregnancy – I really wish I could treat myself to some new maternity bits but I just cannot justify the cost at the moment, especially when they are used for such a short pace of time.

Sleep: Sleep is good!  I just cannot get enough though.  Last night I slept from 9pm-6am and I am still tired.

Best moment this week: Feeling quite a lot of movement, and continuing to think about names.

Movement: Baby seems to be establishing some sort of movement pattern.  I do worry about movements a lot though.  During my first pregnancy I visited hospital a few times due to worrying about reduced movement.  This triggered an extra scan at about 35 weeks, which showed that my babies growth had tailed off.  She was born at 41 weeks and only weighed 5lb 14oz, so her growth definitely did appear to stop.  This is a worry for me during this pregnancy, what if it happens again but it makes baby ill? What if my placenta doesn’t function correctly?  I am not due to have another midwife appointment until I am 28 weeks, but I have requested an additional one before that so that I can discuss these concerns.

Looking forward to: I am looking forward to a relaxing weekend with lots of naps!

If you are pregnant how are you feeling?  Did you find out the sex of your baby?

 

2 thoughts on “24 weeks pregnant [baby #2]

  1. We didn’t find out the sex either. This is our first baby. We went with the whole “as long as he/she healthy, we don’t care if it’s a boy or a girl.” Everything is therefore black, white, and grey in our baby’s nursery.

    Love your blog. I’m now a follower.


    helloscarlettblog.com

Leave a Reply

