My tips for mums to be/new mums

I am not going to pretend that I am a parenting expert, I am far from it.  I still have days when I wonder how the hell we have managed to keep an actual human alive for over a year.  However there are a few things I remember from the haze that is the first months of Isabelle’s life that I thought may be useful for any Mums to be or new Mums out there.

Allow yourself time to recover

It is really easy to think that as soon as you have given birth, whether it be by c-section or a natural birth, that the hard bit is done and you should bounce back to ‘normal’  This is not the case.  However you have given birth the fact is that your body has been through an enormous trauma and you need to remember this before you start running around looking after visitors, let them look after you!

Don’t be in rush to loose weight

I know, I know, this is easier said than done. Unless you have amazing genes you will probably feel exactly how did after giving birth – like you have been left with a deflated balloon instead of a tummy.  As long as you eat healthily (despite the fact that you will probably want to live off sugar and caffeine to stay awake!), and take it easy you will be fine.  You will never get these first weeks and months back of your newborns life, my view is that this time should not be spent worrying about a little extra weight.

Enjoy your newborn snuggles

The likelihood is that your tiny newborn will want snuggling – a lot. Enjoy these snuggles is my advice.  Isabelle is 16 months now, and the only time I get a decent snuggle is when she is feeling a little poorly (is it wrong that I enjoy these snuggles?!).  I know that it is easy to fall into the trap of worrying that your little one will not settle without being cuddled, but try not to fret, the time will come when they are happy to be placed in their cot for a snooze without any help from Mummy!

Don’t buy lots of clothes

I did quite well with this before Isabelle  was born actually, but then we were team yellow, so I didn’t want to go too overboard with neutral things.  It really is true what they say though, you will get bought/given a LOT of stuff when baby arrives.  I received things from people I never would have expected to!

Try not to worry about how you decide to feed your baby

This is a tough one.  I received little to no help from the hospital in getting breastfeeding established and I ended up leaving the hospital bottle feeding just to get out of there.  Luckily a fabulous midwife visited me the day after and gave me all the help I needed.  It was all go with breastfeeding from then on.  I had my heart set on breastfeeding from an early stage in my pregnancy so I persevered, but that is not to say that there is anything wrong with bottle feeding – it is your personal choice.  Please do not let anyone make you feel like your choice is the ‘wrong one’.  There is no ‘wrong one’ when it comes to feeding your baby – my moto is “happy mummy, happy baby!”

Accept help

I was really bad with this after Isabelle was born.  Isabelle was a much longed for baby, and once she was born I irrationally felt that I had to do everything for her as she was ‘my’ baby.  I should have asked for, and accepted, more help from people, I know I will be when baby #2 arrives!

Do you have any advice for new mums?

 

2 thoughts on “My tips for mums to be/new mums

Leave a Reply

